Author Topic: Handbrake settings  (Read 4629 times)

March 05, 2013, 04:06 AM
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
  • Gender: Male
Here are my handbrake settings for the best encoding possible in x264 with a bitrate between 2200 and 2800:

problem is, in 2 pass it takes 48 hours to encode a blu ray. I wondered if some specialists here know if there is a way to decrease this time without dramatically decrease the quality of the encode. Perhaps some settings are just placebo. What I know is my encodings are just perfect. I used to use mediacoder but it doesnt offer such a range of settings.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2015, 01:57 PM by scarface »

March 05, 2013, 08:14 PM
Reply #1
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 912
  • Gender: Male
  • Learn and Help
Did you try the Advanced settings in Mediacoder 8 ?
It has a lot of settings under the Advanced button > More parameters.

BTW, Handbrake can't hardcode subtitle on a video.
Tell me how if I'm wrong.
:)
Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.

March 05, 2013, 10:51 PM
Reply #2
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
  • Gender: Male
download this sample to check the quality of my rip
http://www.herosh.com/download/11095346/In.time.2011.1080p.bluray.x264.anamorphic.mkv.torrent.html

Youre wrong about handbrake. I dont do hardcoded subtitles but it can do it with the burn in options if the video is including SSA subs. SRT subs cant be hardcoded.

March 06, 2013, 08:46 AM
Reply #3
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
  • Gender: Male
an example for ahmad with this picture...
http://hpics.li/45b818e
This is a rip Ive done with handbrake, SSA subtitles, not hardcoded. Even if I wanted to do so I couldnt have hardcoded the 2 subtitles at the same time. Still, unlike srt subs, the font style has been preserved. When SSA is hardcoded, the original color is also preserved.

March 06, 2013, 07:01 PM
Reply #4
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 912
  • Gender: Male
  • Learn and Help
Thanks a lot for this tip.
I didn't know it must be SSA subtitle to be hardcoded.
I'll try later.

Anyhow, I find mediacoder is the best solution for me, as I can do 2 hardcoded subtitles at the same time plus satisfying quality for me.
i.e. Mediacoder does all I want, but I'll surely try what you told me about handbrake but I hope it can do this well with Arabic subtitle because it's a right to left language and many programs show Arabic subtitles wrong.. i.e. Arabic letters are shown well but from left to right.

Thanks.  :)
Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.

March 06, 2013, 07:13 PM
Reply #5
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
  • Gender: Male
To be completely honest with you, most of the time I use a 3rd party application like mkvtoolnix to add some srt subtitles. The only advantage for hardcoded subtitles is you can see them whatever the device used. No problem of priority too for several hardcoded subtitles...if you are strong enough to read 2 languages at a time.

March 06, 2013, 07:47 PM
Reply #6
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 912
  • Gender: Male
  • Learn and Help
I don't need 2 translation subtitles at the same time.

The story is that I saw some videos before with 2 hardcoded subtitles.. One is the translation for the video and the other is sort of copyright which is written on the upper left corner of the video..... So, I was wondering how and by which program did those guys do that?

I finally found what I was seeking in Mediacoder + SSA subtitle to specify the font, color and position of the subtitle.
Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.

May 25, 2013, 01:19 PM
Reply #7
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
  • Gender: Male
with the release of a new handrake a few days ago, Ive downloaded the svn in order to work on the inbult settings. the installer was esay to handle. if I a can recompile handbrake successfully with my own settings I will post it here. It could interest the specialist Ahmad. Unfortunately I dont have time for that. I will move in the next few days. I found a new flat with a view on the eiffel tower and on the sacre coeur. It wasnt cheap. Ill be probably off for a time.

May 26, 2013, 09:15 AM
Reply #8
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 912
  • Gender: Male
  • Learn and Help
with the release of a new handrake a few days ago, Ive downloaded the svn in order to work on the inbult settings. the installer was esay to handle. if I a can recompile handbrake successfully with my own settings I will post it here. It could interest the specialist Ahmad. Unfortunately I dont have time for that. I will move in the next few days. I found a new flat with a view on the eiffel tower and on the sacre coeur. It wasnt cheap. Ill be probably off for a time.

Good luck, friend.
I wish you all the best.
:)
Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.

January 23, 2016, 03:47 PM
Reply #9
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1696
  • Gender: Male
Well, I found out I have a damaged mkv file, a movie encoded with handbrake.
I don't know if it has always been the case. Using vlc to play the movie, it stops altogether after 1 hour 20, but it's possible to play back the movie after 1 hour 23. And using Western digital DLG didn't help, no bad cluster was found on the hdd.
So I was wondering if there was some software that could examine corrupt movies.