Author Topic: Windows 7 Support  (Read 660111 times)

August 01, 2017, 01:33 PM
Reply #1550
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
  • Gender: Male
So, I can make linux fully automated as opposed to windows, and yet windows is not even close as configurable or hackable? You don't need to hack it, You already have access to everything via root, as opposed to windows where in order to get TrustedInstaller permissions (root equivalent) you need to dig very deep.

Them nobody on the planet is "digging very deep". I haven't been able to find Linux hacks anywhere, whereas for Windows they're everywhere. Let's start with the hated password prompt. I found a way to eliminate from the sudo command, but not much more. To update the OS, install and uninstall software, etc.. it's still required - and I have yet to find a way to totally eliminate it. I'm not the only one complaining. Windows hacks, by comparison can be found everywhere.

Disabling them will not actually disable them. They still run in the background and send data --microsoft made sure of that. And the thing here is that metro apps are very slow, all web apps are, but this is an OS not a web app. They really screwed windows here. An OS should be fast, not glossy and cute.

For this you have to use an app such as W10Privacy. Disabling updates is on there as an option. Our friend Vasudev explained that since his internet connection is unreliable, he disabled automatic updates and installs them manually whenever he gets a chance to do that. With respect to metro apps, you don't have to use them at all. The only one I still have are the calculator, alarms & clocks and the Windows store app. I only use the calculator, the other 2 I haven't removed them just in case.


Of course I know MS-DOS. I use it everyday in my support tasks. We have some really old machines here that relay on 98 and XP. Use 7.10, one MS's best DOS that thay never released.

Are you guy so broke you're still using 25 year old computers and can't upgrade them? What programs are you running?

Because updates delivered via microsoft always screws up your computer and takes a lot more space. Compare the sizes of an installation of Windows 7 RTM (with SP1 installed manually) and Windows 7 SP1 DVD already included. See the space difference. Every sice XP, updates always screwed the OS. They cause endless boot loops, take up space, sometimes destablizes the OS.

Hard drives today are measured in terabytes. Even 128GB SSD's are almost totally gone and can be had for maybe $50. The Windows OS will at the very most take up 20GB. Are you filling your HD's with uncompressed 4K videos or what? Also, updates DO NOT cause screw-ups or endless bootloops. I know because I run Windows 10 on my 3 computers and it runs like a champ, and I have plenty of hard drive space left over.

You obviously have no experience with this type of thing so...

Someone who is still running MS-Dos, refuses to update his OS's, and can't get his copy of Windows 10 to work correctly is telling me I have no experience. Yeah, right...
I switched my ISP recently to FIOS w/ 10Mb up and down. Well, I simply don't trust WU UUP( Unified Update Platform) and prefer cumulative updates.
Yes they need to consume more space because they're refinements to the OS, even Linux's monthly update rollup consume space. Thankfully, both Windows and Linux provide the end users and everyone the option to clean it up via DISM and on linux, you can use Synaptic Pkg Mgr to Clear out older kernels and delete apt package cache and make Linux more snappy.
One more thing is those apps aren't Metro but they are UWP aka Unified Windows Platform that allows code sharing among Android, Mac and even Linux too. They call it platform bridging.
I use UWP apps such as Calc, Groove Music because they're very light whilst compared to iTunes when you wanna listen to music with somewhat greater audio quality and very low CPU usage. Why I use Groove Music because my phone uses the same thing.
And the best part is Calc comes built-in with  date calculation, currency converters, scientific calc etc out of the box, so no need to download any new apps.


August 02, 2017, 11:28 AM
Reply #1551
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2690
  • Gender: Male
Responding to your posts:

My copy of HWINFO says "Microcode Revision" with a value of 22. What does yours say? Does this mean the code was installed?

With respect to your 2nd post, "metro" is a generic term meaning anything that comes from the Windows Store app. That the code can be shared is pretty much beside the point.

ALL OS's leave a ton of garbage behind. That's why it's important to use apps such as Ccleaner or BleachBit(Linux) regularly to constantly flush out the garbage, making sure you have the latest winapp2.ini file in the folder. Of course after a major upgrade, running Windows's disk cleanup is virtually mandatory. Even without these precautions today's hard drives are massive. When was the last time anybody made a mechanical HD less than 1 TB?

August 03, 2017, 02:14 AM
Reply #1552
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
  • Gender: Male
Responding to your posts:

My copy of HWINFO says "Microcode Revision" with a value of 22. What does yours say? Does this mean the code was installed?

It is very difficult to keep track of it. So, I don't know which version of uCode is installed for each CPU. As for checking previous uCode use this link https://superuser.com/questions/355691/how-do-i-see-cpu-microcode-version


August 12, 2017, 09:55 PM
Reply #1553
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2690
  • Gender: Male
It is very difficult to keep track of it. So, I don't know which version of uCode is installed for each CPU. As for checking previous uCode use this link https://superuser.com/questions/355691/how-do-i-see-cpu-microcode-version

The problem with this link is there is no way to tell what the microcode should be after installing the update. On both my computers HWINFO reports version 22. The number is meaningless, and honestly I haven't noticed any difference with respect to performance.

August 13, 2017, 06:07 AM
Reply #1554
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
  • Gender: Male
It is very difficult to keep track of it. So, I don't know which version of uCode is installed for each CPU. As for checking previous uCode use this link https://superuser.com/questions/355691/how-do-i-see-cpu-microcode-version

The problem with this link is there is no way to tell what the microcode should be after installing the update. On both my computers HWINFO reports version 22. The number is meaningless, and honestly I haven't noticed any difference with respect to performance.
Isn't your CPU 4710HQ and 4790K ? I think the only way is to delete microcode.dat by using uninstall.bat and reboot. Afterwards, use HWINFO to find the current uCode. Then apply the update. The microcode fixes some random temperature spikes and can deliver more OC potential w/ lesser voltage.


August 15, 2017, 09:44 PM
Reply #1555
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2690
  • Gender: Male
Isn't your CPU 4710HQ and 4790K ? I think the only way is to delete microcode.dat by using uninstall.bat and reboot. Afterwards, use HWINFO to find the current uCode. Then apply the update. The microcode fixes some random temperature spikes and can deliver more OC potential w/ lesser voltage.

You're probably right. Frankly I don't feel it's worth the effort. I'm not noticing any difference one way or the other.

August 16, 2017, 03:15 AM
Reply #1556
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
  • Gender: Male
Isn't your CPU 4710HQ and 4790K ? I think the only way is to delete microcode.dat by using uninstall.bat and reboot. Afterwards, use HWINFO to find the current uCode. Then apply the update. The microcode fixes some random temperature spikes and can deliver more OC potential w/ lesser voltage.

You're probably right. Frankly I don't feel it's worth the effort. I'm not noticing any difference one way or the other.
Do you use RTSS OSD whilst gaming to monitor CPU temps, usage, GPU temps etc..?
Microcode update can fix TSX bug in your 4790K cpu and can lower cpu temps by 5-10C.  Probably you can update the BIOS to latest version.


August 20, 2017, 09:24 PM
Reply #1557
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2690
  • Gender: Male
Do you use RTSS OSD whilst gaming to monitor CPU temps, usage, GPU temps etc..?
Microcode update can fix TSX bug in your 4790K cpu and can lower cpu temps by 5-10C.  Probably you can update the BIOS to latest version.

How do you monitor the health of your CPU when you're in the middle of a game?

August 21, 2017, 01:13 AM
Reply #1558
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
  • Gender: Male
Do you use RTSS OSD whilst gaming to monitor CPU temps, usage, GPU temps etc..?
Microcode update can fix TSX bug in your 4790K cpu and can lower cpu temps by 5-10C.  Probably you can update the BIOS to latest version.

How do you monitor the health of your CPU when you're in the middle of a game?
Using RTSS in HWINFO or MSI AB. 


August 21, 2017, 10:04 PM
Reply #1559
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2690
  • Gender: Male
Using RTSS in HWINFO or MSI AB.

I saw your screenshot. Are you saying RTSS is part of HWINFO and runs in the background or what? And what is MSI AB. Give me a brief tutorial on how to do this, I'm curious.