Author Topic: Windows 7 Component Store Cleanup - Rebase  (Read 45953 times)

April 08, 2017, 08:03 PM
Reply #100
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2758
  • Gender: Male
So the activation won't work even after syncing to Onedrive? M$ stated that Threshold 2 will solve activation issues after M/B change.

Threshold2 is an upcoming Windows update with more "features". I saw nothing concerning changing out MB's. I do know for a fact that since MS first established this free upgrade-activation system, it made it very clear the activation was valid only for that computer and was not transferrible. They will tolerate a minor upgrade (e.g., more RAM, larger HD) but not something major like swapping out the Mobo. That requires a new license and new activation because it's basically a new computer. When I replaced my board after the old one died, I used the same HD with activation and simply updated the drivers. After a few minutes I got the hated "activation required" watermark.

Syncing to Onedrive is like syncing to any other local drive or cloud-based site. It's a simple matter of copying files and nothing more.

You're a pro in torrents I just started and have a lot to learn. Thanks, so that news was just a act to show they stopped supporting torrents.

They'll never stop torrents. Keep in mind torrents are highly decentralized. Torrent sites do not host files. Those that have only magnet links don't even host the .torrent file your client needs for the download. Your data comes in pieces from other users such as yourself. It is very easy to move sites from place to place or hide them behind VPN's to mask their physical location. Taking a torrent site down is a little like killiing flies -- be assured there will be more somewhere.

April 09, 2017, 01:29 AM
Reply #101
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 923
  • Gender: Male

Threshold2 is an upcoming Windows update with more "features". I saw nothing concerning changing out MB's. I do know for a fact that since MS first established this free upgrade-activation system, it made it very clear the activation was valid only for that computer and was not transferrible. They will tolerate a minor upgrade (e.g., more RAM, larger HD) but not something major like swapping out the Mobo. That requires a new license and new activation because it's basically a new computer. When I replaced my board after the old one died, I used the same HD with activation and simply updated the drivers. After a few minutes I got the hated "activation required" watermark.

Syncing to Onedrive is like syncing to any other local drive or cloud-based site. It's a simple matter of copying files and nothing more.
@humbert: You're confused with Creators update aka Redstone 2. Threshold 2 was released in Nov 2016.


April 12, 2017, 06:42 AM
Reply #102
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1593
  • Gender: Male
Today, I read that microsoft ended support for windows Vista. That's why it can be necessary for you to upgrade to windows 7. The latest edition of windows 7 lite has been delayed because once again there is an error with windows update because of my previous aggressive cleaning of the winsxs folder. That's why I will start from scratch and this time I will only use the tool of harkaz (which is very good). What's more, I will release another edition of netfx 4.6.2 lite, with the latest updates.
Besides, I hope some of you watched delusions of grandeur.

April 12, 2017, 10:43 PM
Reply #103
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2758
  • Gender: Male
Speaking of Windows, have any of you guys tried the Creator's Update? Since upgrades sooner or later become inevitable, I decided to download and install the update. After once again disabling many new "features" eliminating all their tracking and telemetry with O&O ShutUp, I finally got it to run OK. It's got some new stuff for games including a "Game Mode" that directs all resources to the game. The paint app now supports 3D as well as some other stuff.

I say go for it. Download it, clean it up and check it out.

April 12, 2017, 11:34 PM
Reply #104
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 923
  • Gender: Male
Speaking of Windows, have any of you guys tried the Creator's Update? Since upgrades sooner or later become inevitable, I decided to download and install the update. After once again disabling many new "features" eliminating all their tracking and telemetry with O&O ShutUp, I finally got it to run OK. It's got some new stuff for games including a "Game Mode" that directs all resources to the game. The paint app now supports 3D as well as some other stuff.

I say go for it. Download it, clean it up and check it out.
Did you perform in place upgrade or clean install?


April 13, 2017, 09:08 PM
Reply #105
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2758
  • Gender: Male
Did you perform in place upgrade or clean install?

This is an upgrade - no clean install. Eventually they'll make it available on Windows Update, people like you and me can grab it right now. Go here and download the upgrade tool - it'll do everything. After installing it and cleaning it up (disable "features" and telemetry with O&O Shutup) it works great. Check it out. Oh, and never forget you can only delay installing upgrading, not skip it completely. Ask anybody trying to run XP on a relatively modern PC.  :)

April 14, 2017, 10:18 AM
Reply #106
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 923
  • Gender: Male
Did you perform in place upgrade or clean install?

This is an upgrade - no clean install. Eventually they'll make it available on Windows Update, people like you and me can grab it right now. Go here and download the upgrade tool - it'll do everything. After installing it and cleaning it up (disable "features" and telemetry with O&O Shutup) it works great. Check it out. Oh, and never forget you can only delay installing upgrading, not skip it completely. Ask anybody trying to run XP on a relatively modern PC.  :)
Yep I will upgrade within a week or two.


July 15, 2017, 07:21 PM
Reply #107
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2758
  • Gender: Male
Since the is a Windows component topic, let me post this question here.

Rarely do I ever need to use photoediting software. When I do it's something minor, which is why I just use MSPaint. Once you finish inserting a figure from ribbon at the top (line, arrow, circle etc) how do you edit or delete it? Pressing "Select" and drawing a rectangle around the figure and the delete key gets rid of both the figure and the area in your photo, so that's not it.

Believe it or not, I've looked everywhere on Google for an answer and haven't been able to find one. Any ideas?

July 16, 2017, 11:55 PM
Reply #108
Since the is a Windows component topic, let me post this question here.

Rarely do I ever need to use photoediting software. When I do it's something minor, which is why I just use MSPaint. Once you finish inserting a figure from ribbon at the top (line, arrow, circle etc) how do you edit or delete it? Pressing "Select" and drawing a rectangle around the figure and the delete key gets rid of both the figure and the area in your photo, so that's not it.

Believe it or not, I've looked everywhere on Google for an answer and haven't been able to find one. Any ideas?
As I understand your question you're looking for the functionality "Layers" which to my knowledge is not implemented into Paint.
If you put an arrow on a new layer, you can move it, resize it and such without altering the "original"(background image).

If this is what you mean; i suggest Paint.net.

July 17, 2017, 07:20 PM
Reply #109
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2758
  • Gender: Male
As I understand your question you're looking for the functionality "Layers" which to my knowledge is not implemented into Paint.
If you put an arrow on a new layer, you can move it, resize it and such without altering the "original"(background image).
If this is what you mean; i suggest Paint.net.

Thanks for the advice. I downloaded Paint.net and I'll check it out. I'm not sure if the problem is lack of support for layers. The figure I drew (circle, arrow, line etc) is available on the ribbon at the top. You can edit it all you want until you click somewhere else on the picture. After you do that I see no way to edit or remove it. To me this makes no sense.