• Welcome to Maher's Digital World.

Windows Preinstallation Environment

Started by billnes, June 04, 2012, 01:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

billnes

Hello,

I'm a newbie here, so I ask that you please forgive me if this question seems to be a bit off.

I am looking for a lightweight OS for a weak, old, Dell OptiPlex GX260.  I read, directly from the Microsoft web site, that Windows PE, can run programs.  However, I also read that the installation of PE only stays active, or "alive"  for 72 hours.  I don't know what happens after the 72 hour period ends.  I wanted to know if there is a virus/adware/trojan free version that has had the 72 hour total lifespan disabled.  If PE can run Internet Explorer, Office Home & Student Edition 2010 and support an anti-virus such as McAfee, that would be great.

My local Microcenter (Westbury) has OEM installations (little gatefold packages) of Home Server 2011 for $45.  However, I found this picture on Wikipedia: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/b/b2/Windows_Home_Server_2_Desktop.png.   I am baffeled by the cryptic nature of this message.  If somebody could explain this, I'd be greatful.  Does Home Server 2011 have Internet Explorer already intergrated into it?  Again, if Home Server can run Internet Explorer, Office Home & Student Edition 2010 and support an anti-virus such as McAfee, that would be great.

The OptiPlex has a P4 CPU, running at 2Ghz 1Mb of system RAM (maxed out) and a 60Gb HDD.

Thank you very much for your time, effort and consideration in this matter.

Best Regards,
Uncle Billy

Shadow.97

The only thing i can say is that the link is dead :(
I cant help more than saying that :)

Ahmad

Hello billnes. :)

First, I want to say that my PC is almost like yours.
CPU 2.6 GHz, Cache 256 KB, RAM 768 MB.
And I run Windows XP SP3 without feeling slow.