Author Topic: Windows 10 Privacy Issues  (Read 4493 times)

December 07, 2016, 09:44 AM
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Gender: Male
This thread is regarding how to disable or remove telemetry from Windows 10.
Hopefully other members can post their views and softwares to remove/disable telemetry.


December 09, 2016, 09:40 AM
Reply #1
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Gender: Male
W10  telemetry remover:
  • O&O shut Up!
  • Spybot; Destroy 10 spying
  • Do not Spy
List of other SW can be added by other members as well.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2016, 01:17 AM by Vasudev »


December 09, 2016, 08:39 PM
Reply #2
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2810
  • Gender: Male
Do Not Spy is also pretty good. A great deal of telemetry and spying can be eliminated in the settings and a few tweak using the Group Policy Editor, but with these apps you can do all this at once instead of spending an hour tweaking and tweaking. Even if you're on Windows Home and don't have a Group Policy Editor, making modifications in the registry will work the same way.

Destroy Windows Spying can also delete unwanted Metro programs, and can go as far as to delete all Metro apps except Cortana, which can be easily disabled.

December 10, 2016, 01:18 AM
Reply #3
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Gender: Male
Destroy Windows Spying can also delete unwanted Metro programs, and can go as far as to delete all Metro apps except Cortana, which can be easily disabled.
I use all Metro apps like Groove Music (Faster than iTunes ), MSN apps and others.


August 20, 2017, 11:03 AM
Reply #4
i have some doubts on Windows 10 OS. Sometimes in my system it is supported showing some errors some time. Can you please let me know.

ISO 27001 Certification in Bangalore

August 20, 2017, 08:54 PM
Reply #5
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2810
  • Gender: Male
i have some doubts on Windows 10 OS. Sometimes in my system it is supported showing some errors some time. Can you please let me know.

I was reading that Windows 10S can only run metro apps. If so then it's garbage, there are very few metro apps that are worth anything. Is your system strong enough to handle Windows Home or Pro? If so then I suggest wiping the drive and installing that.

Since 10S won't do 3rd party apps, the most you can do is go into your settings and disable as much telemetry-related stuff as you possibly can. There's probably many more things you can disable by using the registry editor. You'll find them on Google.

November 01, 2017, 01:52 AM
Reply #6
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Gender: Male
i have some doubts on Windows 10 OS. Sometimes in my system it is supported showing some errors some time. Can you please let me know.

I was reading that Windows 10S can only run metro apps. If so then it's garbage, there are very few metro apps that are worth anything. Is your system strong enough to handle Windows Home or Pro? If so then I suggest wiping the drive and installing that.

Since 10S won't do 3rd party apps, the most you can do is go into your settings and disable as much telemetry-related stuff as you possibly can. There's probably many more things you can disable by using the registry editor. You'll find them on Google.
Try this ISO of W10 FCU from Phoenix http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/windows-10-bloatware-free-edition.804247/


February 01, 2018, 11:38 PM
Reply #7
hi there.. really nice information.. i was looking for this since a long time…really appreciate the amount of work which you have put into to it.. thanks for sharing



February 06, 2018, 10:33 PM
Reply #8
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2810
  • Gender: Male
Vasu: On several occasions I believe you said you upgrade Windows 10 manually. How do you do that? On my lappie for some reason Windows update isn't working. Until I find a fix I want to keep it up to date.

February 06, 2018, 11:09 PM
Reply #9
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Gender: Male
Vasu: On several occasions I believe you said you upgrade Windows 10 manually. How do you do that? On my lappie for some reason Windows update isn't working. Until I find a fix I want to keep it up to date.
Grab the iso from techbench adguard https://tb.rg-adguard.net/public.php
Mount and run setup.exe
OR I found Dism++ to be very versatile tool to fix your issue in one go.
Just check WinSxs cleanup, windows update log, Windows update install history and cache and just reboot. Your issue will be fixed. Make sure you create a system restore point before proceeding or even Macrium reflect Image backup for safety reason if you're paranoid about losing imp. files. Its safe though I have tried it w/o any issues.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2018, 11:11 PM by Vasudev »