Author Topic: cannot find \OEM\bin\un7zip.exe and C:\DSPdsblr.exe  (Read 12672 times)

June 14, 2014, 06:43 AM
Hello Maherz team,

I installed XP Pro May 2014 version and it found the SATA disk.
However, during install there were error msgs:

cannot find
\OEM\bin\un7zip.exe
C:\DSPdsblr.exe


the installation can continue, but later impossible to run XP.

In Linux I can see an \OEM\bin\un7zip.exe of 189 kB of 24 Jan 2010 inside the ISO,
but the installation routine can not see this executable.

What is / are the problem / s and how can I fix it?


I can find the May 2014 XP version on Piratebay, but not the June 2014 version.

Greetz

June 14, 2014, 06:56 AM
Reply #1
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2377
  • Gender: Male
Did you integrate a driverpack?
http://forum.driverpacks.net/viewtopic.php?id=4814
(yes I've got old messages on this forum too...)
« Last Edit: June 14, 2014, 07:00 AM by scarface »

June 14, 2014, 09:30 AM
Reply #2
Hello,

I did not integrate anything, it is master Maher who is the author of the ISO.

I did find one article on this issue in general:
http://forum.driverpacks.net/viewtopic.php?id=5887

There is a possibility that Maher's ISO has a small glitch, but why do not many
more people have these error msgs?

Regards

June 14, 2014, 12:10 PM
Reply #3
Hello usmangujjar,

thank your for your reply.

>>1) torrents are not allowed anymore.
ok

>> 2) there is no fault in Maher's ISO of XP MAY 2014,
i installed it more than 20 times on different computers without any error.
its may your hardware configuration which is causing problems.

That is why my problem is so strange.  If other people have no problems,
and I can see the file in the ISO, then why the error msg that it can not
be found?

In the reference I posted
(http://forum.driverpacks.net/viewtopic.php?pid=47401#p47401)
David found his problem in creating an ISO with nLite:
"Well I had another look and was my silly fault, I didn't set OEM Enabled in
nlite, sorry for false alarm".
  His symptoms were the same as my problem.

>> are you burnt ISO to CD or using USB disk to install XP??
also tell your PC details.

Do you know a good program to burn XP ISO to USB?  I have read it is not
easy and is complicated to do this.

I have burnt ISO to CD 48X using only 10X (low as possible).  Computer is
new ACER Aspire V5-472 and in BIOS, I changed to legacy.  Kept AHCI and did
not change to IDE (want to keep AHCI).  Took out the hard disk and put in a small SSD. 
Made 4 partitions on SSD:
NTFS 16GB
EXT2 linux boot /
EXT2 /home
FAT32

I wanted to make a dual boot XP & Linux Mint 17.  There are one or three
WIN programs that I still want to use, otherwise MINT 17 is very nice.  One
time I installed WINE in Linux and it made a very big mess in the Linux
system and I am scared to try again.

In the past, I did install Virtualbox and had no problems to install XP in a
virtual machine, but could not install my Win programs since I do not yet
understand how to do this. 
Lots of tutorials on the Inet how to install Virtualbox, but I can find no
tutorials how to install programs onto the virtual XP machine.

I see no reason why not continue to use XP together with Linux; Linux
for Internet and XP for old programs that I like and do not want to change
yet.  People still sail with old wooden boots that can be very beautiful.

I am happy that master Maher is continuing to make XP available to modern
SATA hardware.  Some hackers who have reduced XP down to 100 - 300 MB
say it is the bloated XP + Win7 + Win8 that is the danger and that a minimized
XP with no upgrades is fairly safe against exploits.  There is no danger if XP
is not connected to an external network.

The one Win program that I want to use is less useful with reduced window size
so running in a VM window is not ideal.  That means I need dual-boot XP & Linux.

Please let me know if I missed some info that you need and thank you in advance for
your help.

Greetz

June 14, 2014, 01:21 PM
Reply #4
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2377
  • Gender: Male
I've had problems installing windows 7 on a ssd with AHCI (I haven't tried again ever since). Try to put IDE. You can also try to reinstall the pack on the iso using driverpack base, we never know. Xp might need drivers for ahci/raid anyway.

Note that for the most recent computers, xp might not be compatible in AHCI at all.
For example, the X79 chipset does not support installing Windows XP in AHCI mode for Intel's Serial ATA controllers as Intel won't release AHCI drivers for 32-bit Windows XP.Windows XP can be installed in IDE mode but without SATA features enabled. For users that dual boot Windows XP with another operating system installed in AHCI mode, this means changing to IDE mode every time to boot into Windows XP or install the other OS also in IDE mode. For X79 motherboards with third party SATA disk controllers, Windows XP AHCI drivers may still be supported by the disk controller vendor.

I didn't know that Maher was integrating some packs in his isos. I'm clueless about their contents anyway.
Perhaps you should ask him by pm. We don't see him very often. I guess there might be a party everyday in his house.
Like that, but with intellectuals and computer buffs:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rniVTNUzm7c

June 14, 2014, 03:14 PM
Reply #5
thanks for your response.

There have been a lot of changes in hardware and BIOS in recent times and it is possible that XP is having more and more problems to co-exist with modern hardware and hard disks /SSDs.

One possible conclusion to make is to keep a pre-WIN8 computer for XP and for modern computers WIN8, or my preference Linux MINT.  In this case, XP could probably function in a VM since the hardware interface is made by the host system.

It is a bit stupid to slow down a SSD just to run XP, so I think the new computer is destined to run Linux - - and XP stays on the older computer where it is still a more than acceptable O/S for years into the future.


June 14, 2014, 07:34 PM
Reply #6
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2210
  • Gender: Male
george -> What hardware are you running?

Will XP be your principal OS or are you trying to install it either alongside Mint or as a virtual machine under Mint?