Author Topic: Windows 7 Component Store Cleanup - Rebase  (Read 122577 times)

August 17, 2020, 05:14 PM
Reply #350
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2270
  • Gender: Male
I'm curious about something. How do you update this thing? To my knowledge Micro$haft retired Windows 7 and aren't providing updates for it.
Read this: https://www.teiss.co.uk/microsoft-windows-7-esu/

Also, does it include software that enables the user to get the most out of Intel's latest i9 and AMD's Ryzen 2? Somewhere I heard that although Windows 7 will run under the newest CPU's, you won't take advantage of everything they have to offer because they're not being supported in W7. Vasudev told me this has to come from 3rd parties (or so I think).
I don't know. I don't use windows 7 and I have no intel i9 or Ryzen. Maybe Vasudev knows the answer.

August 20, 2020, 11:21 AM
Reply #351
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
  • Gender: Male
I'm curious about something. How do you update this thing? To my knowledge Micro$haft retired Windows 7 and aren't providing updates for it.
Read this: https://www.teiss.co.uk/microsoft-windows-7-esu/

Also, does it include software that enables the user to get the most out of Intel's latest i9 and AMD's Ryzen 2? Somewhere I heard that although Windows 7 will run under the newest CPU's, you won't take advantage of everything they have to offer because they're not being supported in W7. Vasudev told me this has to come from 3rd parties (or so I think).
I don't know. I don't use windows 7 and I have no intel i9 or Ryzen. Maybe Vasudev knows the answer.
There's unofficial support and drivers for Win 7 but I couldn't get Skylake PC to get working on UEFI and it worked only in legacy mode. On desktop it doesn't make much difference but on laptop, legacy BIOS has super long boot times for NVMe drives.

August 21, 2020, 11:35 AM
Reply #352
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2270
  • Gender: Male
There's unofficial support and drivers for Win 7 but I couldn't get Skylake PC to get working on UEFI and it worked only in legacy mode. On desktop it doesn't make much difference but on laptop, legacy BIOS has super long boot times for NVMe drives.
Visibly you have a lot of knowledge about computer. Maybe you know that my former computer, a MSI GE72 6QD was dying, and therefore I got a new laptop, a hp 17-cd0079nf (It is a mid-range computer with a good Nvidia graphics card. I wanted a intel i7 instead, but there was no more choice with the covid crisis. No more MSI computer, for instance. And I wanted a computer with Freedos, but I've been obliged to buy a computer equipped with windows 10). Before getting rid of the old computer, I opened it to recover a samsung ssd 850 EVO. I opened the hp and put the SSD. I wanted to install windows 10 on the nvme drive. I had to go to the bios and put "legacy" in order to install windows 10 via usb drive. But then I realized that the new computer was booting with the OS of the MSI! (in UEFI mode, the windows 10 installed on the SSD was not recognized). Thus, I'm still using an old copy of windows 10. And I formatted the NVME drive, I don't use it.
Do you know if I should use this NVME drive? is it faster than a 2.5 Samsung SSD? Should I install windows 10 on the "sk hynix BC501"?
I recovered a 8Gb ram too, and I put it in a free slot (so I still have 16Gb Ram).
Note that I bought a DVD drive lately...I didn't know that new computers had no blu ray drives. And I'm planning to make new DVD rips of "Swimming pool" and "D'amour et d'eau fraîche", with the latest x264 codec.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2020, 11:48 AM by scarface »

August 24, 2020, 09:40 AM
Reply #353
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
  • Gender: Male
There's unofficial support and drivers for Win 7 but I couldn't get Skylake PC to get working on UEFI and it worked only in legacy mode. On desktop it doesn't make much difference but on laptop, legacy BIOS has super long boot times for NVMe drives.
Visibly you have a lot of knowledge about computer. Maybe you know that my former computer, a MSI GE72 6QD was dying, and therefore I got a new laptop, a hp 17-cd0079nf (It is a mid-range computer with a good Nvidia graphics card. I wanted a intel i7 instead, but there was no more choice with the covid crisis. No more MSI computer, for instance. And I wanted a computer with Freedos, but I've been obliged to buy a computer equipped with windows 10). Before getting rid of the old computer, I opened it to recover a samsung ssd 850 EVO. I opened the hp and put the SSD. I wanted to install windows 10 on the nvme drive. I had to go to the bios and put "legacy" in order to install windows 10 via usb drive. But then I realized that the new computer was booting with the OS of the MSI! (in UEFI mode, the windows 10 installed on the SSD was not recognized). Thus, I'm still using an old copy of windows 10. And I formatted the NVME drive, I don't use it.
Do you know if I should use this NVME drive? is it faster than a 2.5 Samsung SSD? Should I install windows 10 on the "sk hynix BC501"?
I recovered a 8Gb ram too, and I put it in a free slot (so I still have 16Gb Ram).
Note that I bought a DVD drive lately...I didn't know that new computers had no blu ray drives. And I'm planning to make new DVD rips of "Swimming pool" and "D'amour et d'eau fraîche", with the latest x264 codec.
SK Hynix BC501 is pretty good mid-range NVMe almost comparable to Crucial P2, Kingston A series etc...
You can use existing RAM w/o any issues.
As for UEFI boot, you can use Windows media creation tool to download the ISO or you can make any edition ISO using single file
https://uup.rg-adguard.net/
You can try Ventoy where you simply copy the raw ISO file and it boots anything and you don't have to format USB or write to it every damn time. Just copy the ISO and enjoy.

September 08, 2020, 03:27 PM
Reply #354
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2270
  • Gender: Male
Note that the new editions of windows 7 and windows 10 will not be available before the end of the week, and maybe next week. I can't connect to the hotspot I was using any more and I have no connection besides my phone.

I don't know if you remember my old car. Well, the engine is almost dead. There is a leaking head gasket and it might not be worth fixing.
In the meantime, I hope that humbert, vasudev, shadow.97 and the little users of the forum are fine.

Note that the stock markets tumbled today, the cac 40 was down 1.59% while the s&p 500 lost 2.76%. Tesla literally collapsed and dropped 21%. On 21 July I told you I wasn't at ease with Tesla at 1500$ in the financial news and stock markets topic. Well, it reached 2500$ before split, and it's now at...1650$ before split. On the short term, I think a rebound of the stock markets is likely, so that the bulls can leave the market (at least I'm not expecting a big rebound, maybe 2% on the cac 40 before the downturn in financial markets resumes).

September 10, 2020, 07:21 PM
Reply #355
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2270
  • Gender: Male
Currently, I can't connect to the hotpost I was using and then I can't provide the users with a new version of windows 10 yet.
Maybe I'm going to go to Orange on the Champs-Élysées tomorrow to know if I can upgrade my phone package (I only have 10Gb per month).
Note that the next version of windows 10 will include the latest adobe flash plugin, the new visual c++ redist of Aboddi1406. I think that mkvtoolnix could be included by default too.

September 10, 2020, 09:48 PM
Reply #356
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2124
  • Gender: Male
Hey Scarface: How many cell phone providers are available in France? I assume they're all GSM, i.e., the protocol that allows you to simply insert the company's SIM card. How much data do you think you need?

With respect to the car, are you living anywhere near Paris? I'm asking because one thing I liked about Paris is that you don't really need a car, in fact the car is a disturbance. The metro is excellent and it gets you anywhere easily. Sadly here in the USA with the exception of New York, without a car you're dead. You have to buy a car often with money you don't have, then pay fuel, insurance, repairs, license plate etc etc.

September 11, 2020, 09:16 AM
Reply #357
Currently, I can't connect to the hotpost I was using and then I can't provide the users with a new version of windows 10 yet.
Maybe I'm going to go to Orange on the Champs-Élysées tomorrow to know if I can upgrade my phone package (I only have 10Gb per month).
Note that the next version of windows 10 will include the latest adobe flash plugin, the new visual c++ redist of Aboddi1406. I think that mkvtoolnix could be included by default too.

Have you looked into smaller providers in france?
I found out about 48.ie They offer 100gb data for €8 a month.

September 11, 2020, 12:33 PM
Reply #358
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2270
  • Gender: Male
Have you looked into smaller providers in france?
I found out about 48.ie They offer 100gb data for €8 a month.
Well, it seems 48.ie is an Irish provider.
But don't be worried, I just upgraded my package with Orange: 70Gb per month. And it's a non-binding offer since I'm an old customer.
I'm not sure it will be enough though.
Note that I'm currently downloading the latest edition of windows 10. I'm going to try to prepare a new version soon.

Finally, as far as the stock markets are concerned, on 8 September, I was saying "I think a rebound of the stock markets is likely, so that the bulls can leave the market (at least I'm not expecting a big rebound, maybe 2% on the cac 40 before the downturn in financial markets resumes." Well, it seems I was right, the s&p 500 rebounded on 9 september but another downward movement seems to be underway. The s&p 500 is already down 0.8 since the closing of the European markets, at 3320 points. Below 3300 points, a potential target could be 3150 points.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2020, 12:48 PM by scarface »

September 11, 2020, 01:19 PM
Reply #359
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2270
  • Gender: Male
Hey Scarface: How many cell phone providers are available in France? I assume they're all GSM, i.e., the protocol that allows you to simply insert the company's SIM card. How much data do you think you need?

With respect to the car, are you living anywhere near Paris? I'm asking because one thing I liked about Paris is that you don't really need a car, in fact the car is a disturbance. The metro is excellent and it gets you anywhere easily. Sadly here in the USA with the exception of New York, without a car you're dead. You have to buy a car often with money you don't have, then pay fuel, insurance, repairs, license plate etc etc.
I didn't need much data as long as I could connect my computer to a hotspot. since it's not working anymore, I'm using my cellphone as a modem, and you can understand easily that 10Gb per month is not enough. I could subscribe to fiber internet, but since I'm leaving too far from work, I think I'm going to leave.
And you are right, I can use public transport. That's what I already do. But it requires 3 hours round trip, vs 2 hours with a car. Note that I'm not leaving "anywhere near Paris", but in the south of the Hauts-de-Seine, and I have to use the RER B, and then the A, and then either the line 3 or the line 1 of the metro...