Author Topic: Windows 7 Component Store Cleanup - Rebase  (Read 156882 times)

July 15, 2021, 06:04 AM
Reply #470
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2516
  • Gender: Male
Note that new versions of windows 10 and 7 are available in this topic.
They are both very small. The drivers added in windows 10 were updated.

I'm surprised you're still making versions of Windows 10, let alone Windows 7. I thought you'd concentrate on 11. Never forget that eventually we will all be running 11. Upgrades are an inevitable fact of life.
As far as W7 is concerned you're right. Maybe I will discontinue Windows 7 support pretty soon but some users might still be using it on the forum like Vasudev or Usman. By the way, you have probably noticed that windows xp is still available on the forum too. As for windows 10, It still is the best version to use. Windows 11 was not even officially released and there was not update for it on 13th July unlike the two other versions.

July 15, 2021, 08:59 PM
Reply #471
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2299
  • Gender: Male
As far as W7 is concerned you're right. Maybe I will discontinue Windows 7 support pretty soon but some users might still be using it on the forum like Vasudev or Usman. By the way, you have probably noticed that windows xp is still available on the forum too. As for windows 10, It still is the best version to use. Windows 11 was not even officially released and there was not update for it on 13th July unlike the two other versions.

I don't know why at this juncture anyone would still want a copy of Win7. I suggest as opposed to starting on a new copy from scratch, just give a link to one you already have and let him update it. Any program you put there that he intends to use can be easily updated. The OS is another matter. Add to this the fact that there's really no need for it. W10 will run on just about any computer that ran Win7, plus the fact that W10 is sufficiently stable not to need an old OS.

And of course, hold off on W11 until it becomes more mainstream and hacks begin to exist.

July 16, 2021, 09:29 AM
Reply #472
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2516
  • Gender: Male
Following the advice of humbert, note that a poll is available. The Windows 7 iso will be removed if there answers are showing it is not needed any longer.

Note that I tested the latest version of windows 11 (22000.71). I wanted to release a new version but I won't since it has become unusable. The option to get a classic start menu was disabled in the registry. Open shell doesn't work any more. And as far as the right click context menu is concerned, you have to click "more options" to get the old one (the registry tweaks were disabled too). Apparently more and more users are furious about these new changes.

July 16, 2021, 09:05 PM
Reply #473
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2299
  • Gender: Male
Note that I tested the latest version of windows 11 (22000.71). I wanted to release a new version but I won't since it has become unusable. The option to get a classic start menu was disabled in the registry. Open shell doesn't work any more. And as far as the right click context menu is concerned, you have to click "more options" to get the old one (the registry tweaks were disabled too). Apparently more and more users are furious about these new changes.

That's a good idea. Hold off on Windows 11 for a few more months at the very least. At this point it's not usable.

One thing I did like about Windows 11 is it gave me the option of bring back Windows 8's full start screen. I firmly believe this is one thing Micro$oft got right. I detest Classic Shell with a passion. I hate clicking the bottom left of the screen, mouse up, left, down, back -- all to find the app you're looking for. What could be easier then hitting the windows key and finding the tile you want staring you in the face? Add to this that you can arrange the tiles any way you want, and include whatever you use most on the first page. I strongly believe people who stick to the classic shell do not understand how to use the start page and/or are firmly committed to stick with what they know.

July 18, 2021, 02:05 PM
Reply #474
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 893
  • Gender: Male
Note that new versions of windows 10 and 7 are available in this topic.
They are both very small. The drivers added in windows 10 were updated.

I'm surprised you're still making versions of Windows 10, let alone Windows 7. I thought you'd concentrate on 11. Never forget that eventually we will all be running 11. Upgrades are an inevitable fact of life.
I'll be sticking with Win 10 until I buy new PC. Skylake isn't supported by Win11. Except that all are good.

July 18, 2021, 09:30 PM
Reply #475
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2299
  • Gender: Male
I'll be sticking with Win 10 until I buy new PC. Skylake isn't supported by Win11. Except that all are good.

Take your time and don't even worry about it. It's a safe bet someone will find a way to disable that limitation. I'm firmly convinced that it's not that it won't work with "older" CPU's, but that M$ is disabling it on purpose. If indeed this is a CPU-hungry OS, then how it is that it runs faster than Windows 10 on a virtual machine? Logic dictates it wouldn't run on a VM at all, or at least not until Oracle updated VirtualBox to run OK on Win11.

July 19, 2021, 02:36 PM
Reply #476
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2516
  • Gender: Male
Note that a new version of windows 10 is available here, as well as new Nvidia drivers:
https://www.nomaher.com/forum/index.php?topic=3350.msg36418#msg36418
Added: Net 5.08 desktop runtime.
Added program: advor
Updates: handbrake, belatout.

Following the advice of humbert, a new version of windows 7 is available with all the updates till July 2021. This version is much smaller (converted to esd). It won’t be updated any more but it remains fully updatable.
https://www.nomaher.com/forum/index.php?topic=3350.msg36198#msg36198


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xZVxfqstjtM

July 20, 2021, 08:35 PM
Reply #477
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2299
  • Gender: Male
Quote
I'll be sticking with Win 10 until I buy new PC. Skylake isn't supported by Win11. Except that all are good.

An idea occurred to me. I found a torrent for a lite copy of Windows 11 with all the metro apps removed except Windows Defender, and of course with TPM and secure boot disabled. Why not grab a copy and try to run it on Virtualbox? I'm asking because since this thing ran so well on my VM, I continue to insist "old" CPU's were disabled on purpose. This thing just might run on your VM despite what M$ keeps saying. My CPU is supported, which is why I can't run the experiment.

Quote
Updates: handbrake, belatout

Why do you insist on preloading handbrake? Does anyone on here use it other than you? As you know, many of us test your copies on VM's where running handbrake is not practical. If you didn't include it but someone else uses it, it's easy to simply download and install a free copy.

July 21, 2021, 01:07 PM
Reply #478
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2516
  • Gender: Male
Updates: handbrake, belatout

Why do you insist on preloading handbrake? Does anyone on here use it other than you? As you know, many of us test your copies on VM's where running handbrake is not practical. If you didn't include it but someone else uses it, it's easy to simply download and install a free copy.
Constructive suggestions don't upset me, but here I don't know what I can say. I tried to add many useful programs indeed. This version of windows 10 is not meant to test handbrake under a virtual machine, its purpose is primarily to be used as your OS (and you can use handbrake or not).
As for the question about who uses it or not, it won't give rise to a real debate, if you think handbrake is a useless program, you can explain this on the handbrake forum, maybe they will counter your arguments.
I must add that handbrake is not preinstalled like a few other programs. If you want to remove extra programs, you can remove the "$oem$ folder", as I already said, with ultraiso or winiso (tutorial here: http://www.winiso.com/support/tutorials/delete-iso.html)

July 21, 2021, 04:23 PM
Reply #479
Why do you insist on preloading handbrake? Does anyone on here use it other than you? As you know, many of us test your copies on VM's where running handbrake is not practical. If you didn't include it but someone else uses it, it's easy to simply download and install a free copy.
I use handbreak. I've rarely downloaded Iso's from other people unless it's for testing or a pc i never will put my bank details on etc.
Handbreak can decrease size by alot without losing alot of quality